I’m not short. I’m just unusually not tall. – Hyesungie

20 Jan

The Bean is a big, bad 2-month-old and is no longer requiring us to hold her 24hrs/day. Alas, my first cooking project of 2014!  This was a good’un, Dear Readers (I’m all Bridget Jones in the New Year, apparently).

Inspired by a couple of recipes I found on Pinterest, I decided to try my hand at short ribs and polenta, particularly as the ingredients required are things we typically always have on hand – fresh thyme, red wine, garlic, beef stock, and good Parmesan. Short ribs are also really affordable; I think I bought a pound for around $5.

Onions, carrots, garlic, and thyme. Gang's all here.

Onions, carrots, garlic, and thyme. Gang’s all here.

Season your short ribs and brown on all sides.

Season your short ribs and brown on all sides.

Saute veggies, add red wine, stock, and tomato paste. Let short ribs take a nice, long bath.

Saute veggies, add red wine, stock, and tomato paste. Let short ribs take a nice, long bath.

Tada!

Serve over cheesy polenta. Tada!

You can find the recipes here and here. Turns out that short ribs = not so short on awesomeness. Not only was this incredibly easy to make (you don’t even have to babysit the short ribs while they braise), but Mike declared it one of his top 5 meals/meat preparations of all time.

Of. All. Time.

For more like this, check out:

6 Responses to “I’m not short. I’m just unusually not tall. – Hyesungie”

  1. Meghan Johnson January 20, 2014 at 10:40 pm #

    Short ribs and The Bean both look delicious!! … That was meant to be more “cute enough to eat”-delicious, not “I’m a creepy cannibal”-delicious. I think you catch my drift.

  2. wonderlandbytatu January 21, 2014 at 1:33 am #

    that looks delicious! Congrats on your baby girl as well!

  3. jingsandthings January 21, 2014 at 7:58 am #

    It will be no time until you’re getting helping little hands in the kitchen. The food looks good – don’t think we get short ribs here, but I can always improvise.

  4. katemcclafferty January 21, 2014 at 8:12 am #

    that little bean just melts my heart. How is she two months old already!! Man, it goes fast!!

  5. Ann January 21, 2014 at 10:01 am #

    Well now… that looks easy and delicious – short ribs and the polenta. I will have to try this – I need meat eating roommates!

    Also the Bean… “el dozo” – I die. She is adorbs!

  6. Jenn January 21, 2014 at 5:19 pm #

    Looks amazing, I had that short rib recipe saved and just saved the polenta recipe. Your little girl is just adorable and is that an elephant I spy on her outfit?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

