Farmers market inspiration

27 Feb

Fun fact: sometimes Spellchecker auto-corrects my first name from “Loni” to “Loin.”

Speaking of loin!

We’ve been really hitting the Mar Vista Farmers Market hard these last few weeks.  It’s a perfect Sunday morning outing and a fun way to get the Bean out of the house and out into the sunshine with us.

When Mike’s parents were here we bought a huge pork loin from the meat stand and needed a great recipe to go with it.  We found this one:

Photo taken from this blog.

Photo taken from this blog.

Mike made this horseradish and herb-crusted pork loin recipe that very evening.  And it was BEAUTIFUL. We’ve actually had it three times since then.  It’s that good.

When it’s just the two of us we don’t need an entire pork loin, so we’ve adapted this recipe to pork chops. Same process. Same flavor. Faster cook time.

The rest of our most recent farmers market haul is also on the menu.

The rest of our most recent farmers market haul is also on the menu.

The finished product - mustard-glazed carrots, roasted potatoes, and the chop.

The finished product – mustard-glazed carrots, roasted potatoes, and the chop. We served it with a salad, too.

The recipe can be found here. I really, really recommend it.  I’m not sure I can ever eat pork chops another way now.

And if you’ll indulge me, I thought this might be the proper place to praise my husband to high heavens. He makes dinner about 90% of the time, and it’s always stuff THIS GOOD.

And now, as I type this, he’s tango dancing with Margot across our living room floor.

4 Responses to “Farmers market inspiration”

  1. Mike February 27, 2014 at 3:14 pm #

    Thanks sweets, I enjoy cooking for you and I am glad you like the majority of my dishes. Plus, I am way better at cooking than tango dancing!

  2. Kendall Coleman February 27, 2014 at 5:49 pm #

    I can attest to Mike’s cooking skills. Always delicious… :)

  3. Ann February 28, 2014 at 4:35 am #

    Love this! I’m making it my unofficial goal to hit up some farmers markets this summer and cook. I’ve kinda failed in years past, but maybe this is the year.

  4. the usual bliss March 1, 2014 at 4:22 pm #

    YUM! Looks fantastic! I can’t wait until we can hit our Farmer’s Market on a regular basis. It’s months away still! xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 885 other followers

