Margot Mondays – A few good books

3 Mar

I was an extremely lucky little girl in that my dad never, ever denied me a book (or an Oreo Blizzard, but that’s another story).  If I wanted to buy a book, he’d get it for me.  Those Scholastic newsletter order forms they sent home with us from school?  I could basically pick out whatever I wanted (within reason).  We’d go to the mall and my dad would drop me off at Walden Books while he did his shopping.  He’d come back 20 minutes later and there I’d be, sitting in the kids section halfway through a book (I’d finish the other half on the car ride home).  When we’d vacation at my grandparents’ house in Wisconsin over Christmas break he’d take me to the local library so I could get a card and check out books.

Yep, and here’s a picture of one of Mike’s bookshelves:

Organization could be better, but his exams are due soon. It's a good excuse.

Organization could be better, but his exams are due soon. It’s a good excuse. Also, that top shelf is definitely buckling.

All this is to say that it’s important to us that Margot has her fair share of reading material. I absolutely, positively cannot wait until the day she’s old enough to get her own library card. I think we’ll make a fun day of it. It really is something to celebrate.

She’s been read to daily ever since we found out I was pregnant. I can’t think of a book we don’t like (though she’s not old enough to demand we read her the same story over and over and over and over again), but there are some standouts:

Silly Sally has red hair like our girl.

Silly Sally has red hair like our girl.

Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, courtesy of my friend Green.

Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, courtesy of my friend Green.

People love to send me llama-related things.  Here are Llama Llama Red Pajama and Is Your Mama a Llama?

People love to send me llama-related things. Here are Llama Llama Red Pajama and Is Your Mama a Llama?

Good Night Los Angeles and Good Night California were gifts from a friend of Mike's.

Good Night Los Angeles and Good Night California were gifts from a friend of Mike’s.

I love you, Stinky Face. Really sweet.

I love you, Stinky Face. Really sweet.

Huggy Kissy. I feel like it describes our lives to a T.

Huggy Kissy. I feel like it describes our lives to a T.

Nursery Rhymes by Kate Toms.

Nursery Rhymes by Kate Toms.

The complete A.A. Milne book set.

The complete A.A. Milne book set.

A smattering of Dr. Seuss.

A smattering of Dr. Seuss.

A nod to art fans - Painting with Picasso.

A nod to art fans – Painting with Picasso.

We read "If I Could Keep You Little."

We read If I Could Keep You Little.

10 Responses to “Margot Mondays – A few good books”

  1. Ann March 3, 2014 at 9:17 am #

    You don’t have one of my absolute favorites…I must rectify that immediately!

    • Loni Found Herself March 3, 2014 at 9:54 am #

      Oooh! Which book?

      • Ann March 3, 2014 at 4:17 pm #

        Good Night Moon! You should be receiving a box from Amazon soon with that and a few others!
        I can’t wait to help you feed Margot’s book addiction. This is why we are friends because we both love books!

      • Loni Found Herself March 3, 2014 at 4:22 pm #

        Aw, thanks! You definitely did not have to do that!

      • Ann March 3, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

        I know. I’m the cool “aunt”. But in all seriousness, she MUST have that book.

  2. jaq March 3, 2014 at 9:30 am #

    One of our faves has no words, but a different story every time you look at it. http://www.barnesandnoble.com/listing/2691456681936 (amazing deal this is).

  3. Kendall Coleman March 3, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

    Thanks for the press coverage honey. Yup, you loved to be read to and to read. 3 books at a time at the bookstore and at least one of them would be done on the way home.

  4. Kathy March 6, 2014 at 7:30 am #

    I love to read. My mom used to read to both my kids when they were little. Last night my daughter was reading to us. We love the “Bear” books – like Bear Wants More and Bear Stays Up for Christmas. I love them as much as my daughter does. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Jen March 9, 2014 at 8:05 pm #

    The Scholastic newsletter was the best! I loved the all the books from the Little Golden Book Series when I was young, especially The Pokey Little Puppy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 885 other followers

