Margot Mondays – the privacy issue

24 Mar

A 2010 study found that 92% of U.S. children have an online presence by the time they’re 2. – CNN article, found here.

You’ll notice that I’ve all but stopped posting photos of Margot on my blog, at least not ones where her face is visible. One of my first posts about her included a nice, big, beautiful picture of her teeny-tiny face. I thought very little of it.

And then my online views exploded. Freshly Pressed-like exploded. Only I hadn’t been Freshly Pressed.

I started talking with Mike and we agreed that we just aren’t comfortable with her image being so public. She’s just a baby, and she relies on us to keep her safe. That’s not to say, of course, that I don’t trust the people who follow my blog. The opposite is true, actually. The people who follow my  blog, who comment on my posts, are like friends to me. It’s the people who Google, read, and move on who make me feel uneasy. I’d feel terrible if her picture was, say, shared on Pinterest. Or if someone created a ridiculous meme out of it. Or if, heaven forbid, someone truly nasty got a hold of it. I share her photos with friends and family on Facebook and Instagram, but I feel like I have some modicum of control over those images. We live far away from family and most friends, too, and I want them to feel like they know who she is. So there’s a balance I have to strike, and I’m still trying to figure out what that is.

I want to write about her here, to share stories about her and create a little space where I can talk about motherhood and what it means to me (in a word: everything). There’s value in writing all this down for her to read someday if she wants to. But I have to do that in a way that makes sense for my family. I mean, when I whip out photos of her in the bathtub to show to her first boyfriend, I want to know that he hasn’t already seen them online. It’s just more embarrassing for her that way. :)

I can share all and sundry here, but that’s my choice. Babies don’t have a choice.  She’s entitled to privacy.

Baby Bean.

Baby Bean. From behind.

4 Responses to “Margot Mondays – the privacy issue”

  1. Heather Harter March 24, 2014 at 9:05 am #

    Such a good point to share. The internet and this age of technology never ceases to amaze and appall me. As a mother, I am learning daily new sites, apps, etc that I must learn to navigate in order to protect my children. Kudos for taking steps now to ensure Margot’s safety and privacy. :)

  2. jmlindy422 March 24, 2014 at 9:24 am #

    I don’t reveal my children’s names at all. I refer to my daughter as “my daughter” and my son as, well, “my son.” I’m creative. While I frequently write about them–I am a parenting blogger, after all–I almost never post their likenesses. I’ve posted one picture of my daughter and one of my son. And they were buried in the posts; you have to scroll to find them.

  3. JC March 24, 2014 at 9:53 am #

    In total agreement with you. There is really no such thing as “privacy” anymore, or at least as we once knew it. We all must stay vigilant about this. Good work!

  4. Ann March 24, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

    I think you’ve found exactly the right balance, m’dear!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

