Forking Los Angeles, pt. 3

27 Mar

I like that title for this series a little better.

It’s no secret that I’m a cheese-loving, baguette-chowing, Louvre-going, there’s-a-Parisian-calendar-on-my-office-wall-having Francophile. I have a board on Pinterest called something ridiculous like “The France of my Dreams,” and it’s full of darling photographs of lavender fields, flower markets, and cemetery sculptures. I’ll only watch House Hunters International if people are moving to France. I’ve also promised Margot a trip to Paris for her 16th birthday (and a pony) if she’ll only go to sleep. Sometimes I mean that.

See how happy I am?!

See how happy I am?!

One of our favorite places to sit outdoors, sip coffee, eat a fantastic brunch, and people watch is a little spot in Culver City called Cafe Laurent. It’s one of the more authentic French cafes I’ve been to in the states (not that I’m an expert), it’s affordable, and sometimes there’s live music on the patio (my favorite is the guy who plays standards on the accordion). If you’re lucky they’ll serve your bread with house-made jam. Oh, and the chocolate croissants are killer.

Instagram36IMG952012080495103735

I don’t do caffeine, but I DO do vanilla lattes at Cafe Laurent. Sublime.

Instagram36IMG952012062395143217

The patio is lovely.

Instagram36IMG952012062395143034

I’m the biggest sucker for the leek and goat cheese quiche, especially when served with potatoes gratin.

 

8 Responses to “Forking Los Angeles, pt. 3”

  1. hunting for bliss March 27, 2014 at 12:30 pm #

    Now you’ve got me salivating and missing Paris. Thanks a lot.

  2. carolstreet March 27, 2014 at 4:46 pm #

    I’ll be in Paris in 35 days! Not that I’m counting, or anything. Any suggestions?

    • Loni Found Herself March 27, 2014 at 5:31 pm #

      Oh, wow. Good for you! I’m not at all jealous or anything. ;)

      You can’t really go wrong, food-wise, but I recommend eating at least once in Montmartre. And though I loved the Louvre I really, really loved Musee d’Orsay more.

  3. Ann March 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm #

    Isn’t that where we had brunch? Now, I’m salivating!!

  4. carolstreet March 27, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

    I will take you up on the suggestion to eat in Montmatre. Honestly, food is the only thing I’m nervous about–being vegetarian. But I think it has become better since my last visit so long ago.
    My plan is to visit Monet’s house and gardens in Giverny before seeing his paintings at Musee d’Orsay. I want to stand amongst his flowers and soak it all in. I’m currently reading A Moveable Feast, so we’ll have to throw in a Hemingway/Gertrude Stein walk/pub crawl, too.

    • Loni Found Herself March 27, 2014 at 6:32 pm #

      Sounds heavenly. I wish I’d visited more museums during my visit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

